MINCHAU REAL ESTATE
Minchau is one of the 27 neighbourhoods that make up Mill Woods and is part of the three-neighbourhood community of Ridgewood. The Mill Woods land bank was assembled in 1970 by the Government of Alberta because of concern over the rising cost of serviced residential land in the Edmonton area. Mill Woods was named for Mill Creek, which crossed it, and the groves of Parkland forest trees that stood there.
By 1971, a development plan, based on the concept of self-contained, multiple-neighbourhood communities separated by arterial roadways, had been prepared by the City of Edmonton. The City began to purchase the land, subdivide it, and sell residential and commercial building lots. Residential development in Minchau began in the late 1970s, but most single-detached houses and all higher density housing were built during the 1980s.
Single-detached houses are the dominant housing form. High-density housing and commercial sites are located along collector roadways. The triangular neighbourhood is bounded by arterial roads on the west and south sides. Mill Creek Ravine, running from southeast to northwest, completes the triangle.
The interior road system is a combination of curving collector roads and curvilinear and cul-de-sac residential streets. The design objective is to provide for an efficient flow of traffic to and from the neighbourhood while minimizing the disruptive and hazardous effects of traffic within it. A number of strategically placed pathways promote pedestrian and bicycle travel within the neighbourhood.
The focus of Minchau is a large multi-purpose school and recreational site adjoining Mill Creek Ravine. The ravine provides an opportunity to residents to explore wildlife habitats and areas of natural vegetation.
Residents of Minchau are served by businesses in the Aspenwood Shopping Centre, as well as the health services, commercial, recreational, and educational facilities of the nearby Mill Woods Town Centre.
Minchau was named in honour of August Minchau, who immigrated from Poland in 1894 and settled in the Mill Woods area.